Virtual PD Projects + Takeaways + Discussion

Hello everyone! This is the thread for the Vidcode Virtual PD Course: Coding for Educators. Please post your projects and takeaways here!

Pixelated Monarch Project
This is the link to my first project. I think my students would really like this project because they can connect making filters with using filters for social media. I’m excited to see what’s next.

This is beautiful, thank you for sharing!

1 Like

Make-a-Meme Project

My students love memes! Normally we would just use a Meme generator but this is so much more impactful. I can’t wait to share this one with students, but also with teachers! True Story: I was an English teacher for 14 years. I’m just fascinated by the use of semicolons in JS. I also love the idea of Syntax in programming. There are so many things we do that require information to be put in a certain order. Sentences. Math Equations. Code. These are great connections for students to make to their other learning.
2 Likes

Slide Show Project
How to Make a Haiku
This is awesome and I can see the students really getting into using this for their projects. I already show them how to make stop animation using Google Slides. This is going to be a great extension activity.

I made my “images” in Google Slides and downloaded them as PNG. I love doing this because if you use their “Insert”>“Image”>“Search the Web” feature you get images that are licensed for use and Google Slides makes it super easy to create the visual you want instead of finding one someone created for you. In the future, I would use more programming to create text for my slides.

1 Like

Animoji

This was challenging! However, this makes me want to go back and really learn about Arrays and Modulo more so that I can understand better.
2 Likes

Antique Rex in Purple Tint

It doesn’t really reflect how much time I spent playing with the settings, I think the kids would definitely have fun with it.

1 Like

Deal with It Project