June 28 Professional Development

I’m so excited to meet you all! This topic is a place to connect that will persist after our zoom meeting ends. Post projects you created and questions here. You can also use it to connect with new colleagues, and find inspiration from each other’s work and experience. Additionally, we’ll be posting documents like lesson plans and CS project exemplars here, so you’ll be able to access them easily after the PD.

1 Like

Hi, Leandra. I received an email suggesting I respond here with a short intro of myself, so here it is. I’m Robert. I’m a longtime teacher of multiple subjects (inc ELA, Math, Science, ESL and more) to students in every year K-12 as well as college classes, teacher training, etc. I have often and for decades taught in computer classrooms, but have never taught CS as such. At the moment, the only teaching I am doing is one-on-one with my son who has just finished 5th grade and who will not be attending school (at least not in person) this coming school year. It remains to be seen if we will be doing school curriculum by distance, our own “homeschooling”, or some combination of the two, as we have been since March. So far, we’ve done Hour of Code, various stuff at Khan Academy, etc., but not all that much really. I look forward to any new ideas and to learning from everyone!

1 Like

Hi! I have been teaching for over 20 years. I started out teaching 7th and 8th grade language arts, but transitioned to teaching technology to 5th - 8th graders and have done this the past 17 years. My classes used to focus on multimedia design, but now the focus has shifted to CS and applications. I started out using Scratch many years ago with my students. I now mainly use the Code.org Fundamentals and the Computer Science Discoveries curriculum mixed with a little Khan Academy. I am excited to see what Vidcode is all about!

1 Like